Northumbria University is internationally renowned as the home of horror scholarship. That research specialism was founded by our late Professor Peter Hutchings, and the newly formed Horror Studies Research Group formalises Northumbria’s concentration of experts in this area. Our core team are widely recognised as leaders in horror studies, publishing field-defining monographs, presenting keynote lectures at major conferences, delivering talks at numerous European film festivals, and holding positions on the editorial boards of the field’s primary book series. Our global reputation for research excellence in horror studies is further proliferated by our many genre-based PhDs and alumni.

Core Team: Dr Steve Jones (group lead), Prof Stacey Abbott, Dr Kate Egan, Dr Russ Hunter, Prof Claire Nally, Dr Damien Pollard, Dr Johnny Walker