Come along to the next ECR Forum on Friday 13 November

We’re holding the first Northumbria Early Career Researchers Forum of this academic year next Friday 13 November from 12-1 in the Mea House auditorium. question by cesar bojorquez CC BY 2.0

This is open to anyone in the early stages of a research career, regardless of job title  or any formal definition of ECR. We also welcome interested final stage PhD students. This meeting will also include a discussion around the challenges of undertaking a PhD whilst working so you or your colleagues are in that position then please come along.

This meeting will include:

  • An introduction to the ECR working group representatives for 2015-16 (see list of reps below). These are the people who have volunteered to sit on various faculty and university committees to make sure that an ECR voice is heard. They also organise and plan other ECR activities such as the forum meetings and they are the first point of contacts for ECR issues/support in the faculty.
  • A discussion around research mentoring at Northumbria: what the current scheme includes and a chance to feed in your perspectives to help shape future plans.
  • A discussion around undertaking a PhD whilst working – some speakers will talk about their own experiences and the discussion will look at ways of managing the challenges that this brings.
  • A chance to suggest issues/themes that the ECR Forum could focus on this year or the ECR working group could take forward at faculty or university level.

There is no need to sign up, just come along next week. Feel free to bring your lunch with you. If you can’t make and would like to contact your faculty ECR representatives, their details are as follows:

Faculty of Arts, Design and Social Sciences

Kirsten Haack

kirsten.haack@northumbria.ac.uk

David Wood

d.a.wood@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty of Business and Law

Clare Sandford-Couch (Law)

clare.sandford-couch@northumbria.ac.uk

Helen Tracey (Business)

helen.tracey@northumbria.ac.uk

Faculty of Engineering and Environment

Paul Mann

paul.mann@northumbria.ac.uk

TBC
Faculty of Health and Life Sciences

Tora Smulders-Srinivasan

tora.smulders-srinivasan@northumbria.ac.uk

Gemma Wilson

gemma.wilson@northumbria.ac.uk

Share